Skip navigation

Dota Loading Screen - Dota 6.63

IceFrog, the current developer of DotA AllStars, the popular Warcraft 3 mod is now working for Valve. Nothing unexpected here, the previous developer, Guinsoo, is now working with Riot Games on League of Legends, a variation on the DotA scheme with quite a few fresh ideas. So it’s nice to see these guys turning from map creators to full time game devs. What bugs me out is the statement from IceFrog: “As I’ve said many times in the past and especially after today’s developments, I am very excited about DotA’s future!”

So he’ll continue working on DotA, but now under Valve. I guess that’s … (kinda) good news for us, great news for IceFrog and AWESOME news for Valve. With the 2 most successful mods ever (CounterStrike and DotA) under their belt and a shitload of other projects (Left 4 Dead 2, new Portal¬†installment), I wonder when Valve will take some time to finish that Half Life 2 story (yeah, I went as far as to call it a story). IceFrog’s post below:

“I have some really awesome news I’d like to share with you guys. I am now leading a team at Valve! I finally have all the resources needed to do some very exciting stuff that you guys will love. I look forward to revealing more specific details when the time is right.

My goal and top priority in the future is to solve the surrounding issues that affect the DotA experience in order to allow it to reach new heights. Addressing these issues will enable us to further enjoy aspects of DotA such as the gameplay, mechanics, and in-game feel that currently work well and ought to be maintained. As I’ve said many times in the past and especially after today’s developments, I am very excited about DotA’s future!

With regards to the 6.64 patch, the focus will be primarily on more balance improvements. It is moving along very smoothly and I expect to have it ready soon. Once those refinements are done, I’ll be working on some fun new content such as heroes or remakes for the 6.65 version. If there are specific things, big or small, you want me to consider for patches that follow, let me know.”

Leave a Reply

